Mean People Suck

It’s been a while since I did a thoughtful post, and that’s mostly due to burning the candle at both ends. I also seem to be in a rut where there are more witches people nurses not using their “play nice with others” manners around me. It’s likely my own perception, but it sure feels like a lot of people are going out of their way to act rudely.

Mean nurse
This woman reminds me of the nurse asking me about my choice of areas once I graduate. She actually sat next to me and said “What are you planning on doing? You know you can’t be in **insert her specialty here** because you’re a guy.”

How 18th century of her.

Another told me that since I was getting my masters in nursing but didn’t have a bachelors “Sounds like you’re doing it ass-backwards to me”.

At that point I wished for the powers of Johnny Storm to be able to taker her out in style.
Human Torch

Johnathan Swift wrote in his infamous “A Modest Proposal”

I have already computed the charge of nursing a beggar’s child (in which list I reckon all cottagers, laborers, and four-fifths of the farmers) to be about two shillings per annum, rags included; and I believe no gentleman would repine to give ten shillings for the carcass of a good fat child, which, as I have said, will make four dishes of excellent nutritive meat, when he hath only some particular friend or his own family to dine with him. Thus the squire will learn to be a good landlord, and grow popular among his tenants; the mother will have eight shillings net profit, and be fit for work till she produces another child.

Swift was (supposedly) making a comedic point, and not actually promoting the behavior he lauds.

Which brings me in a roundabout way to my point: Why are nurses like rodents?

Seriously, there are rats that consume their young, and some squirrels. They are not the only ones, but they convey the reverence with which I hold those people that do the same.

I don’t even really understand it either. I recognize that nurses are under an increasing amount of stress in their jobs. I get that the respect they expect from other members of healthcare is rarely displayed. I see the marginalization dealt them in many situations. That doesn’t explain to me why they would purposely be rude/abrasive/mean to a nursing student or new nurse.

What does this behavior actually gain the offender? Status within the nursing community? Is there some personal gain in making another less experienced nurse feel bad? I don’t see the upside.

And I’m not being sensitive here. I have a pretty thick skin. I don’t have to be offended by such behavior to still recognize it. It’s like an egg timer with a broken dial. It’s constantly ticking, and no one knows when it’s going to just “go off”. Other nurses hit with the spillover as often as not; I’m not the sole focus of their ire.

I believe that the consequences of this behavior have to be consistent, rapid, and severe. No one looks away when a racial epithet is used in the workplace. No one ignores when inappropriate innuendo is used in the same situation. Why should we all just allow this abusive practice to continue? There’s no reason that I see.

Someone find a guitar! We need to sing Koombaya!
Group Hug

